top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Map

Accepting the burden of work, I was gifted riddles

and room to relocate the stars, a new home founded.


My trembling reflected in his mask, frost spreading

at his every word. Defiant, determined, I said: you.


I sang to myself in eleven voices, of eleven songs;

I sing the saddest still with joy in my heavy heart.


A flutter of wings marked the arrival of more work,

distracted when I walked away. She never asked why.


Her fury ran red as her dress, rage enough to kill

them all; we stayed her axe, and I found a calling.


The moon chose the one who chose him: silver smile,

black feathers, red blood & the lightest of chains.


Morning light barely made it past the curtains, not

like back home, waking in gold to a song I let end.


It means opposite of hope, yet hope is all we heard

in every inked name, every sworn oath: a beginning.


It was not about where the cards fell: the deal had

already been struck, the details decided by chance.


I hadn't realized I'd been watching that same smile

rise and recede for years until I asked to keep it.


He does not understand stillness, shadow caught in

candlelight, but I followed every word & accepted.


Emptiness cannot be filled with sunlight and wine,

but they can carve a new path away from that ache.


Silent stretches do not keep the dust from dancing

in the light--nor dry up all the ink in the world.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page