top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

From Here to Paradise and in All Things

But there was no water anywhere there.

I found no water there at all.


I found no water there at all.

What heated dream isn't wet? I

wonder if all this blood might

count for anything; whose thirst

is it meant to slake? His hunger

unsettles, an unwelcome presence

for which I always keep a place.


He's never seen this room, ours,

but your chair was his; I wonder

why can't I get rid of it easily


but there's seldom simplicity in

separation. You scrape your skin

with your knife, ribcage a guard

against what I might take. Did I

already steal it? Why else might

you unmake yourself for me?

Why die to armor the ocean?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page