top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Ghost

His back is to me, half-cast in shadow.

Light lends depth, borrowed brilliance

filtering through the window; we can't

stay like this forever. I could follow him

into a future of caged songbirds & violins

strung with the guts of men who weren't so

mad before meeting us. What distinction

might be drawn between discovery &

dismemberment? I mind neither ruin

nor revelation, imagining myself immune

to the inherent loss of substance which

occurs with sharpening, picturing

partition as evolution. See how I

have grown, outgrown independence,

his praise and shaping sustenance

enough. I'm not a delicate flower

in need of light to bloom;

this isn't wilting, how I

bend, how I've broken--

Or I could watch him go

& fall in love with his

ghost.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page