top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Gutted

Cut here, the first instruction,

an incision below the collarbone,

at the edge of his favorite dress,

red, darkened by descent. For you,

something lighter, a second clue:

pull ribs from sternum, open here,

unfold--no. No, that wasn't you. I

misremember soup as coffee, confuse

the calluses on your hands for his,

improper placement, thickness: you hold

different needles for different skins--

different knives, to dissect, to scrape.

It was the roughness I wasn't ready for,

though I don't imply you were imprecise.

To the contrary: he took a year & a half

to win our game. You undid me in a day.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page