top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Prismed Light

I thought to call them faceted,

the jagged edges of aspiration,

and aren't they? One edge gives way

to dozens, fractured glass casting

futures on the floor. Not mine,

but there's a brightness to that,

a reflection of a more collected

arrangement, his hands and mine.


I see yours there, in the prismed light

spread between us, never still. Colors

caught in creases, a whole city, mapped

upon your palm. I don't need to read it

to know the names of all the streets

we've already walked, the numbers to

doors we haven't opened.


It's all green.


And I know what makes it grow.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page