top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Self-Reflection

i.

One line descending diagonally,

three hidden between, unsubtle

pleasure reflected in roundness.


ii.

That face was mine, round-mouthed

and messy. Nothing a few hairpins

can't fix, no honesty unobscured.


iii.

Even vanity has its secrets,

display used for distraction,

this veil of ink an admission.


iv.

Yet am I seen? Is it enough to look

into the darkness and see something

so very nearly myself looking back?


v.

We aren't always so adversarial,

but she carries her past visibly

long after I let my history go.


vi.

I do not need to know her thoughts.

I see her story, ours, writ in bone

& skin, in scars I can never remove.


vii.

What wealth is left here to worship?

What worth can be wrung from answers

to questions nobody's asking anymore.


viii.

I'll make a box of this mirror,

a coffin, no gilding or lilies,

just a corpse I'll never escape.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page