top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Ten Ways to Lose My Interest

Helpful Suggestions for the Infuriatingly Interesting


i.

Measure yourself against imagination.

Take stock of all your short-comings.

Buckle beneath your own insecurity.


ii.

Let your ambition consume you so fully

that the only joy left in your life is

having your paranoia proven true.


iii.

Insist there is a formula for these things,

a script we are both meant to follow: lines

following lines, never crossed or forgotten.


iv.

See me, for a time, and let that solidify

into a single, perfected picture. Protest

when I prove an inconsistent match.


v.

Take to sighing and shrugging as if it were

fashion, a trend to be so very disaffected,

so dull & dim where once there'd been life.


vi.

Decide who I am & dictate it to me.

Accept no evidence to the contrary.


vii.

Let pride & desire determine your direction

without any tempering by grace or discretion.


viii.

Empty yourself of depth.

Fill the hollowness with

trinkets and whistling.


ix.

Take all of my trust and feed it to the Eater.


x.

Stop sending me poetry.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page