top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

The Cathedral without Doors

Even your metaphor is never still, never stable.

One day, you are the cat, all claws & contention

&, every now and again, slumber under the summer sun.

The next, you are the hummingbird, brilliance without

break, a fervent flutter, constant question, restless ache.

Others, you are naught but mist and mystery, metaphor given

ephemeral shape, something in which I could get lost,

nothing I could ever begin to contain.


More and more, you are a cathedral without doors,

a vast fortress of reverence and light and colors

cascading through cavernous corridors. I have sat

outside your tall windows and watched. I have kept

quiet vigil, waiting to find the ways in which you

open.


Then, yesterday, you took my hand and let me in,

let me see where the ideas spill out unformed and

unready, let me worship without words what I have

wanted without end. Yesterday, you let me in and

showed me the constellations native to your skin,

&I made my home under that sky for as long as you

let me.


I'll keep a home under your sky as long as you'll

let me.


4/18/2018

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page