top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

The Shape of Your Name

(a work in progress which will never be finished)


i.

I take tea in the afternoon,

let the day settle, sort itself out.

It's still bitter, but I notice now

how clean it is, too, how clear.


ii.

The stag is elusive, wisteria

not likely to crown the stars

in uneven antlers ever again,

but there will be new stories

and different gardens.


iii.

The sunlight cuts sharper lines

across your face when you speak

shahia in our bed, eliminating

any distinction between hunger

and appetite.


iv.

Neither contradiction nor thief,

you are a key, a question which

opened me.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page