top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Two Ways to Wear a Robe

Bright blooms brushed the generous swell

of her breasts where the robe split wide

and welcoming, unburdened by thoughts of

modesty. The embroidery was new then,

flowers shaped from fire spilled upon

the sea. She tasted of salt. She

tasted like berries grown beside

the ocean. Nothing like you, all

earth and ephemera, all soil and

smoke. The thread's now thin and

dull, slanted like the morning light

slipping in behind you, and I wonder

if she and I might've lasted as long

as her robe has, but all I can

remember right now is that she

never fucked me like you do.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On Knowing

For my friend on the occasion of her wedding. What I know of mirrors is their imperfection, their imbalance of mathematics: one reflects one, & we imagine this is wholeness & we believe we know oursel

On Art

For my friend on the occasion of his wedding. No eye for art, you said, and turned toward Hunger, livid color leaving you cold, neither keen, nor compelling, not enough, not when you already know how

Discretion

It is not Death that watches us with suspicion, yet you invoke Her name anyway, make of Her a boundary, make of me an earthen intimacy. There is no revelry in roots no matter how deep they run, only f

bottom of page