top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Echo

Or I Give Myself Very Good Advice, But I Very Seldom Follow It.


Echo lives in a basement apartment,

walls softened with photos, posters

and paintings--but only one of him,

out of the way by the linen closet.

Funny how often she needs clean washcloths,

how frequently she replaces her pillowcases

these days. Especially in early spring when

daffodils are everywhere and she can't help

but buy a dozen, two, five, fill every vase

she owns with sunshine, golden as his hair.

All of April is spent blogging, posts titled:

Men Who Can't See Past Their Own Reflections;

How to Spot a Narcissist; Your Voice Matters;

and Actions Speak Louder than Words So Leave.

She doesn't tell them about the flowers,

about his picture, about the showers

when she turns the radio up, belting

Secret Love a half-second off, never

on time. She doesn't tell them

that she knows she won't get over him

until he gets over himself, that she

forgets to eat when one ache feels as

sharp as another. Better that they

dream of freedom she'll never have

than die every day of love forever

unrequited.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How To

Start with putting your ego on a longer leash; you can't let it go entirely--why write if not to tell yourself about yourself--but it mostly just gets in the way of getting anything done. Next, write.

09, a nonet

He says what I know of his body is all softness, but I know it's only as soft as the earth solid beneath my feet, an anchor when I might float away. Receptive, grounded. Warm.

The Difference Between a Cage and a Collar

I asked for fewer walls, and you gave me a leash with which to lead me places I never would have found on my own, hidden inside me as they were, how you've captured me a key to my own opening.

bottom of page