top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

April Fool's Day

My first step was into the storm,

hoodie on in the heat & humidity,

a slower descent into the unknown

than I used to take, but my knees

aren't as strong as they used to be.

These days, the plunge into puzzling

starts with a gangway, a ramp, being

pulled aside by a customs agent for

additional screening and a moment to

rest my legs. A three hour drive to

wait in the driveway

and a three hour nap

face down in a borrowed bed.

An evening around an unfamiliar table

in easy conversation, learning

how pieces fit, how years only

matter as they're passing, and

how detours are necessary

for a worthwhile journey.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Echo

Or I Give Myself Very Good Advice, But I Very Seldom Follow It. Echo lives in a basement apartment, walls softened with photos, posters and paintings--but only one of him, out of the way by the linen

How To

Start with putting your ego on a longer leash; you can't let it go entirely--why write if not to tell yourself about yourself--but it mostly just gets in the way of getting anything done. Next, write.

09, a nonet

He says what I know of his body is all softness, but I know it's only as soft as the earth solid beneath my feet, an anchor when I might float away. Receptive, grounded. Warm.

bottom of page