top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Orange

Skin hard, opaque, the world always at a distance,

you give so little away. Not to be kissed or bitten,

that exterior, though touched: smooth, resistant.

Bitterness below, yet eternally pithy. Never let it be

said you are not crisp as your rosy-skinned cousin.

Still, I have seen the softness beneath, how very

discrete you can be. I know you are sweet, dear orange.

I have licked you from my thumbs.


05/20/2018

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our Lady of Change

i. It burned so cruel and so quick, taking everything I'd built, no chance to save anything but this precious, pitiful breath, routine ruined, old dreams all laid to ash. So then, how did it burn? Mer

the suicide queen to her chosen

king of hearts, heartbroken lover, where shall i find you next? laid out and stretched flat waiting for the next train to mark you martyr? making more scars for my trembling -with-false-hope fingers

Myth as Metaphor

(Nyx to Erebus) Let her think me wicked and keep me like an Enemy, closer than comfort. Strife will stir without my hand, & in truth, I have no taste for apples or their turning--though I may take a l

bottom of page