top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Otherwhere

I know the place where the world falls away, where the pavement

is cracked and jagged and the green ocean stretches so far into

the distance that we, long ago, stopped wondering where it ends.

I have wandered concrete corridors so vast & cavernous that even

gestures echo, that a turn of a hand reverberates with intricate

implications as tangled as the poppies which grow wild on

the eleventh floor. And the twelfth. And the forty-third.

I know where the crowds gather, raucous & shrewd, beneath

whirling lights & happy hollering to pick through

the leftover and leftbehind, second-hand vestiges

of a thousand other lives abandoned and scavenged,

trinkets bought for their faraway & familiar itch.

I know how the sunlight turns rosegold on the lake

beside the barn behind the brick lane with all its patios

spilling intimately into each other with the promise of a

party no one ever attends, all the neat, narrow houses

put together like puzzles and kept unsettlingly empty.

I know where they show vague arthouse films all hours

of the night free of charge, where nobody watches the screen,

always there to think, there to run into someone they forgot

decades ago, to find a scar where that connection was

even if they can't remember now why it mattered then.

I see the sky more when I visit now, orange and pink,

indigo and silver, the air sweet with sea-salt, with

riesling, with conversations we could have if only I

could sit still, in the moment--but the broad arches

call to me, the stone steps leading somewhere

I don't yet know.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Echo

Or I Give Myself Very Good Advice, But I Very Seldom Follow It. Echo lives in a basement apartment, walls softened with photos, posters and paintings--but only one of him, out of the way by the linen

How To

Start with putting your ego on a longer leash; you can't let it go entirely--why write if not to tell yourself about yourself--but it mostly just gets in the way of getting anything done. Next, write.

Mine

The only mine I've ever known has been hard-fought, hard-won, all bloody knuckles and broken ribs, all set shoulders and subtle sneer-- won't take no for an answer, defiance the only way I know. It's

bottom of page