top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Prodigal

Updated: Feb 25, 2020

i no longer feel my heart

beating in my own chest--

my ribs have been abandoned

for your ribs, my skin left

looking for the unseen seam

where you must split open &

connect zipperlike with me,

all our guts & gore an orgy

of red togetherness overlap

entwining--& it is not that

i am no longer myself, that

you've taken blood and bone

hostage for a ransom of sex

and song and silent knowing

, but that your body is not

a foreign thing--

undeniably, you

are my destination,

my native land, and

i have come home.


6/12/2003


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our Lady of Change

i. It burned so cruel and so quick, taking everything I'd built, no chance to save anything but this precious, pitiful breath, routine ruined, old dreams all laid to ash. So then, how did it burn? Mer

the suicide queen to her chosen

king of hearts, heartbroken lover, where shall i find you next? laid out and stretched flat waiting for the next train to mark you martyr? making more scars for my trembling -with-false-hope fingers

Myth as Metaphor

(Nyx to Erebus) Let her think me wicked and keep me like an Enemy, closer than comfort. Strife will stir without my hand, & in truth, I have no taste for apples or their turning--though I may take a l

bottom of page