top of page
  • Writer's pictureNic

Relearning Gratitude

Updated: Feb 25, 2020

What I was told about gratitude

is to say 'thank you' for gifts

and graciousness, to be sure to

let others know how you appreciate

their time and effort and company.

What no one told me was how to

turn that gratefulness inward,

how to recognize what of mine

deserves that wonder & warmth--

not in impatience or bitterness

while waiting for somebody else

to notice my worth, but from me

in those quiet moments when I'm

feeling less than, when I

feel my thoughts slipping

toward darkness.

Such breadth and depth is

a blessing,

she told me:

this is not a price I must pay

to know happiness, something

to suffer through

in order to balance a scale,

my heart weighed back down

every time it is lifted up;

this is what it means to be

open:

a door inside me lets life in

indiscriminately, and I can't

close it to keep out sadness

without also locking out joy.

I must learn how to greet all

my guests with the same grace

and gratitude, to thank every

emotion for holding the door.


4/11/2014

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our Lady of Change

i. It burned so cruel and so quick, taking everything I'd built, no chance to save anything but this precious, pitiful breath, routine ruined, old dreams all laid to ash. So then, how did it burn? Mer

the suicide queen to her chosen

king of hearts, heartbroken lover, where shall i find you next? laid out and stretched flat waiting for the next train to mark you martyr? making more scars for my trembling -with-false-hope fingers

Myth as Metaphor

(Nyx to Erebus) Let her think me wicked and keep me like an Enemy, closer than comfort. Strife will stir without my hand, & in truth, I have no taste for apples or their turning--though I may take a l

bottom of page